Mediterranean Burgers

Here I go again, adding hummus to everything. #can’tstopwon’tstop

MediterraneanBugersFirst, it was my infamous Garden Vegetable Hummus Pizza. By infamous, I mean it wasn’t even a blip on the food blogosphere’s radar, but that’s neither here nor there. It rocked my world and that’s really all that matters.

Hummus is a staple in my house and when I got bored of burgers – yes, even the Best Ever Turkey Burgers can get tired – I decided to let two worlds collide. Move over ketchup and mustard, here comes hummus!

The result? A breakthrough in burger-making.

Okay, okay. This wasn’t really a result of a kitchen stroke of genius. If I’m going to be honest here with myself and my readers, I must tell you what really happened was that I had some hummus on hand that was in a use or lose situation.

As serendipity would have it, Mediterranean Burgers were born.

Meat

On the left in the picture above, you’ll see my standard burger mixture. We’ve got a pound or so of lean ground beef, a couple splashes of Worcestershire sauce and a tablespoon of hamburger seasoning. I buy the McCormick brand, but if you don’t see it in your local supermarket or you don’t feel like stocking your spice cabinet, don’t sweat it! Just throw in some salt, pepper, garlic, onion powder and your burgers will be just fine.

Mix all that business up and you’ll be well on your way. If you have any picky eaters joining you, this is the point where you’ll wanna pull enough meat to make a patty or two.

Why? Well, we’re about to get freaky deaky with some Greek(y) ingredients.

Crumbled feta cheese and dried oregano get added on in for Mediterranean flavor that runs right through your burger. It doesn’t get much better than this, folks.

Burgers

If Mother Nature wasn’t so mean, I’d be sending Eric outside to grill these suckers up, but right now the griddle’s the way to go. Now that I’m thinking about it – good weather or otherwise – I’m a griddle girl.

Call me crazy, but there’s something about the combo of cast iron and the flat cooking surface that creates burger bliss.

Sear some up and see for yourself!

AnatomyofaMediterraneanBurgerBy now, your burgers are grilled up and I bet you’re hungry. I get it. Take a sec though to top these things off right before shoving your burger between a bun and stuffing your face.

How? How about thick slices of tomato, tangy pepperoncini and – of course – a good schmear of hummus.

You got that?

Top, then stuff. Lather, rinse, repeat.

Only not with the lathering and rinsing…with the topping and stuffing.

Duh.

Mediterranean Burgers

Servings: 4
Prep Time: 15 minutes
Cook Time: 8 minutes

Ingredients:
1-1 1/4 pound ground beef (I use a 93/7% blend)
a couple splashes Worcestershire sauce
1 tablespoon hamburger seasoning
4 ounces feta (domestic or imported), crumbled
1 teaspoon dried oregano
2 tomatoes, sliced
1/2 cup hummus (prepared or homemade – in my humble opinion, my Heavenly Hummus can’t be beat)
pepperoncini, mild or hot
4 whole wheat burger buns

Directions:
Butter and toast up your buns, if that’s how you roll (get it?!). Set aside until you’re ready to assemble your burgers.

Mix first five ingredients in a medium bowl only until combined and then form four equal-sized patties. I always make an indentation in each patty’s center because I read somewhere that it helps them not bulk up in the middle when cooking. I believe this is a theory of the great grill master himself, Bobby Flay.

Griddle (or grill) on medium/medium high for four minutes per side. If you like your burger a bit more on the pink side, cook a little less. Like ’em well done? Leave ’em on a little longer.

Grab those buns (get your minds out of the gutter) and top ’em with your burgers, a couple thick slices of tomato, some pepperoncini and a couple tablespoons of hummus.

Eat, enjoy and then immediately thank me for this recipe.

BurgahBiteMake a better burger…and when you do, be sure to take a ladylike bite…like so. Super classy.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Mediterranean Burgers

  1. wifeandmotherinoneday March 12, 2014 at 8:43 am Reply

    I am def NOT against red meat- I’d eat it every day….but was wondering if you’ve ever tried this with Turkey? Good idea- or no? Also, just checked out your Best Ever Turkey Burger and I’ll be giving those a try too!

    • Brie March 12, 2014 at 9:45 am Reply

      Great question – you could TOTALLY do this with ground turkey or ground chicken. We don’t eat much red meat in my house, but it’s a nice treat every now and again 🙂

      Just as a note – you may want to dial it down on the hamburger seasoning and even the oregano as poultry can easily be overwhelmed by all that stuff!

      • wifeandmotherinoneday March 13, 2014 at 8:01 am

        I decided to go with the red meat and made it last night (minus the hummus, which I know was the whole point)..GREAT recipe! Everyone loved it, including my 6 year old step son…who’s kinda picky. First words after his first bite, “This is REALLY good” Success! Thanks : )

      • Brie March 13, 2014 at 8:23 am

        Ahhhh! I love it!!!

        There aren’t any kiddos in my house, but they really are the best judges of food, aren’t they? So glad these burgers passed the test!

        Thanks for the follow up!

  2. Karen @ The Food Charlatan March 12, 2014 at 12:55 pm Reply

    I just bought a 2 pound bucket of hummus from Costco. #cantstopwontstop also, feta in a burger? Yes. Yes.

    • Brie March 12, 2014 at 1:07 pm Reply

      Woot woot! Here’s to puttin’ all that hummus to use. And yeah, feta burgers should be a thing everybody knows about.

  3. cheri savory spoon March 12, 2014 at 2:02 pm Reply

    What a great combination, I bet hummus would be good on a burger like this. Oh yeah!

    • Brie March 12, 2014 at 2:07 pm Reply

      It’s a match made in burger heaven! Trust me 🙂

  4. whatjessicabakednext March 12, 2014 at 2:09 pm Reply

    These look and sound delicious! Definitely a recipe to try!

    • Brie March 12, 2014 at 2:11 pm Reply

      Thank you – let me know if you give ’em a go! They’re on repeat in my kitchen 🙂

Got something to say?

