Quick Pickled Onions

Would you believe me if I told you these onions aren’t even the slightest bit oniony?

QuickPickledOnions

Just like oniony isn’t a word in the English language and it isn’t spring even though it’s March. I don’t know where all you invisible internet friends are, but up by me in Boston? The air actually offends me.

I’m so cold I don’t care that each time I take Iggy for a walk, my attire gets increasingly crazier.

The fact that he’ll still be seen with me shows just how much that pup loves me. That, or it shows just how much he likes going outside despite how the woman on the other end of the leash looks. Whatevs.

Jar

I’m gonna give you a glimpse. I’m talkin’ Gap hoodie. The same sweatshirt I’ve been rocking since 10th grade. Plus, a long, but not particularly warm puffy coat up with faux fur lined hood up on top of that.

Oh – it’s important to note – I have both hoods – up.

And just when you think another layer would be overkill, I throw my husband’s tan canvas Carhartt jacket over everything. There’s a hood on this thing as well, so of course – it’s up.

For those of you counting – that’s three hoods. All up.

Scarf, gloves, dog treats, and ugly boots with my pajama pants partially tucked in completes this awful ensemble.

All I need is Iggy all leashed up and I’m good to go embarrass us both as I parade around our neighborhood scaring children and stuff.

SugarSalt

If I could compare myself to any one food to give you a mental image of just how awesome I look, a russet potato comes to mind as the perfect culinary doppelganger.

All those layers add up quick when you’re 5’2″. Short people problems.

Quick Pickled Onions

process slightly adapted from Bon Appétit

Servings: 7
Prep Time: 5 minutes (active), 1 hour (inactive)
Cook Time: 0 minutes

Ingredients:
1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
1 tablespoon sugar
1/2 tablespoon salt
1 red onion, thinly sliced
Directions:
Put first three ingredients in a jar or container with lid. Twist lid on tightly and shake so that sugar and salt start to dissolve.
Add your onion to the jar and once again lid it up. Shake vigorously so that the vinegar mixture coats each piece of onion.
Let jar sit at room temp for an hour, giving it a shake here and there. Then, chill until you’re ready to use. If using all at once, drain first – or, if using as needed, pull onions out with fork and leave the rest in the brine.
Will keep in refrigerator for a couple weeks.

BeforeAfterHour

At least I cook better than I look.

These onions make a meal. No, not in and of themselves, but in the sense that they add oomph to any and everything.

Tacos? Want ’em! Sandwiches? Need ’em! Salads? Gotta have ’em!

Basically, they’re bright and zippy from the vinegar, salt and sugar brine they sit in. Plus, they’re the prettiest purple in color which obviously equals bonus points. Oh – and they’re suuuuuper crunchy.

It’s like instant texture in onion form. Only it’s important I remind you – not oniony in flavor.

Make these onions so what I’m saying will make sense 😉

Tagged: , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Quick Pickled Onions

  1. Marie March 6, 2014 at 12:27 pm Reply

    Hi Brie,
    Will have to defiantly have to make these. Uncle Paul will love these, he loves red onions.
    Thanks for sharing. Love u
    Aunty Marie

    • Brie March 6, 2014 at 12:34 pm Reply

      I’m glad I’m not the only one, Auntie!! These are awesome – and you don’t even have to tell uncle how easy they are to make. That can be our little secret 🙂

      Love you too!

  2. cheri March 6, 2014 at 3:50 pm Reply

    These would be perfect with sandwiches and salads, making these this week end. Love it!

    • Brie March 6, 2014 at 4:02 pm Reply

      Awesome, Cheri – enjoy! Like I mentioned at the end of the recipe, these will keep for a couple weeks in the fridge, but they never last that long in my house 🙂

  3. Karen @ The Food Charlatan March 10, 2014 at 12:58 pm Reply

    Um, Entre the Giant? Like Andre the Giant? You are probably my new favorite person. Ever.

    • Brie March 10, 2014 at 1:02 pm Reply

      YESSSSSSSSSSS. And you, Karen – are mine.

      Stellar sense of humor, my friend! Thanks so much for stopping by – I’ll be sure to return the favor since I could use a good charlatan 🙂

  4. nicocobell March 12, 2014 at 2:10 pm Reply

    Oh yeah, I have to try this. I just recently discovered that I love pickled cauliflower. So good. Can’t wait to try these onions!

    • Brie March 12, 2014 at 2:13 pm Reply

      I’m with you on the pickled cauliflower. Sounds weird, but tastes so, so good!

      Same thing with these onions – I seriously put ’em on everything. If you end up making them, please let me know what you think!

Got something to say?

