Cheesy Spinach & Artichoke Pizza

I seem particularly paralyzed by my cravings lately. Like, can’t sleep, can’t think straight kind of crave.Spinach Artichoke Pizza

Before you guys get the wrong idea, allow me to squash all the baby rumors before they even start. There’s no bun in my oven. There’s just a pan full of Cheesy Spinach & Artichoke pizza – and that’s perfectly fine by me.

This pizza pretty much piggybacks off the dip craving I’ve been dealing with.

Pizza + spinach & artichoke dip = problem solved.

ShallotsSolutions to all life’s problems should taste this good. Sigh.

Added bonus alert! I was even able to improve upon my original craving since I made an entire meal out of it instead of a mere appetizer.

I don’t know if anyone out there suffers from eater’s remorse like moi, but I can only imagine how badly I’d beat myself up for having just dip for dinner. For whatever reason, piling a topping that could double as dip high up on pizza dough rights any irrational wrong.

Please don’t question or judge my questionable judgement.

Spinach

Instead, come along with me on this ridiculously delicious journey. It starts with some sauteed shallots, garlic and spinach.

Of course, if you don’t happen to have any shallots on hand, go ahead and use an onion. See if I care!

I’d say we’re off to a good start, wouldn’t you?

RicottaArtichoke

While everyone’s getting to know each other in a skillet on the stove top, prepare the culinary partner in crime to your spinach.

Ah, artichokes. You’re a funky little veg. I love heart though.

Ahem.

That bad pun probably lost me a couple readers. For those of you still here – I’m sorry – and thank you.

Filling

Weird factoid about me and artichoke hearts? Whenever I add them to my shopping list, I spell out artichoke and then draw a tiny, pluralized heart.

Like so: artichoke ♥s

Some call it super lame. I call it supermarket shorthand 🙂
PrePostBake

I ♥ this pizza. With all my ♥.

Cheesy Spinach & Artichoke Pizza

slightly adapted from How Sweet Eats
Yield: 1 pizza
Prep Time: 20 minutes
Cook Time: 30-35 minutes

Ingredients:
1 recipe Foolproof Pizza Dough (or a 16 oz. ball of store bought dough)
1 teaspoon olive oil
1 shallot, diced
2 garlic cloves, minced or pressed
1 (8 ounce) bag of fresh spinach
1 (14 ounce) can of artichoke hearts (5-7 count)
2/3 cup part-skim ricotta cheese
8 ounces freshly grated muenster cheese
a healthy sprinkle of parmesan cheese
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper

Ingredients:
Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Drain artichokes and press with a paper towel to reduce some of the moisture. Roughly chop, pressing with a towel again, then place in a bowl. Add ricotta cheese.

Heat a large skillet over medium low heat and add 1 teaspoon olive oil. Add in shallot with a pinch of salt and cook until soft and translucent, about 5 minutes. Add in garlic and spinach, tossing to coat and cooking until spinach is wilted. Transfer spinach mixture to the bowl with artichokes and ricotta, then add salt and pepper. Stir to combine.

Shape your pizza dough on a prepared pan (I coat with nonstick cooking spray and corn meal) and then spread spinach ricotta mixture evenly over top. Cover with parmesan and muenster cheeses. Bake for 25-30 minutes with the rack on the lowest position in your oven so that the crust can crisp up.

Then, carefully move the pan to the upper rack in the oven and broil until the crust and the cheese are nicely browned and bubbly. Keep the oven door slightly open and a watchful eye on everything, as it can easily burn.

Filling2

I have a feeling this craving of mine is going to keep reoccurring. Look’s like this recipe will be on repeat.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Got something to say?

