Brown Butter Oatmeal Cookies with White Chocolate Chips, Walnuts & Dried Cranberries

This is perfection in cookie form, friends. The cream of the cookie crop.

CookiesIf you haven’t already put the pieces of the puzzle together, please allow me to spell it out for you: I am extremely motivated by food. I think I inherited this trait, kind of like how I got my mom’s thirst for good gossip and my dad’s attention to detail. Both of my parents are pretty into eating, so that’s where my theory comes from. It couldn’t help but be passed down and embedded into my genetic makeup.

Since I assume everyone else shares my passion for all things food, I tend to make goodies for others as edible thank yous for things they’ve done; kind gestures shown.

Food. It’s one of those universal languages everyone understands. I just happen to be fluent.

The cookies I’m blogging about today were made for Eric’s parents as a form of repayment for being so nice to my new sous-chef. My kitchen has gotten a heck of a lot cuter since Iggy came around.

Iggy

Eric’s dad has swung by the house each and every day around lunch just to check in on Iggy. While we’ve told him we don’t expect him to do this all the time, we really appreciate having his help while the little guy adjusts to his new home. My father-in-law always seems to know when I’m missing Iggy the most, too. That’s when he tends to send me sweet pics of the pup with captions that read something like, “Iggy is just fine!”

Eric’s mom? She’s given Iggy more treats and toys than I can count – and in turn – saved all of my shoes, I’m sure. She also is there for me when I have concerns about pet parenting or Iggy’s general well being…which is…um, every day.

Hashtag hypochondriac.

All joking aside, our Iggy’s got a good life going on – and Eric and I only play a small part in that. Therefore, it was high time we did some thank you baking.

Butter4

Remember that brown butter tutorial from the other day? There was a reason I was browning up such a big batch. I alluded to these cookies, but you had no idea what you were in for. You’re welcome.

Sure, you could skip the step of browning your butter if you’re in a time crunch, but I’m begging you not to. I don’t want to question your life decisions, but I can’t help but at least do so silently. What I’m saying is: I’d judge you secretly from afar.

Brown that butter and we’ll be juuuust fine.

SugahSugah

Speaking of brown, let’s keep the theme going with some brown sugar. Add in an equal amount of good old fashioned granulated for some extra sweetness and whip both sugars with your brown butter until everything’s light and fluffy.

FluffyThe lightness and fluffiness of which I speak is going to take a couple minutes to achieve, but look for something that’s along these lines right here. Basically, you’ll know you’re there when the contents of your bowl become the confectionery equivalent of a cumulus cloud.

I could have taken a spatula to the bowl and gone to town at this point, but I somehow found the strength to continue the cookie making process.

It was a tough job, but somebody had to do it.

Dry

Once we’ve got our brown butter and sugars whipped up, it’s time to turn our attention to the dry ingredients. After the photo op, I combined everything you see above and added it into my mixing bowl. As you see, there’s nothing fancy here, folks. Just some pantry staples that – when they join forces – make cookie magic.

Each element plays an equally important role.

Okay. Cinnamon’s the shining star, but shhh…don’t let the other stuff in on that secret.

Whip

To save yourself from a mess of dry ingredient dust, it’s best to incorporate everything in two small batches instead of one big one. Don’t forget to only use the first or second speed on your mixer, too. Jumping up to anything else will result in an instant explosion.

Regardless of the advice I give, I always end up with everything…everywhere. I’ll never learn.

Oats

Here’s where these cookies get their long name from. All those words? Well worth it. The contents in that bowl are what makes these cookies so bomb.

If my little brother actually read this blog, he’d make fun of me so hard for writing that, but these are my cookies and I’ll describe them however I want to. Even if it makes me sound like I’m stuck in the nineties.

Bomb is only dated when you preface it with “the” or “da.”

Duh.

Yeah, I did that. I officially one upped outdated myself.
PreBake

If you get past my poor attempt at humor and make these cookies, I promise you will forgive me. Uh huh. Just one bite and I’ll be absolved.

Brown Butter Oatmeal Cookies with White Chocolate Chips, Walnuts & Dried Cranberries

adapted from Iowa Girl Eats
Yield: 36 normal cookies, or 20 giant ones
Prep Time: 15 minutes
Cook Time: 11-12 minutes for normal cookies, 22-24 minutes for giant ones

Ingredients:
1 cup brown butter, cooled (if it’s been refrigerated, allow to soften)
1 cup white sugar
1 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla
2 cups white whole wheat flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
2 heaping teaspoons cinnamon
1 teaspoon salt
2 cups oats (old fashioned, quick or instant)
1 bag white chocolate chips
1 cup walnuts (omit if there’s a nut allergy and add in an extra cup of cranberries instead)
1 cup dried cranberries
Directions:
Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Cream brown butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs and vanilla.
In a separate bowl, sift together flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients in two batches. In another bowl combine oats, white chocolate chips, walnuts and dried cranberries. Add to dough and combine.
Drop dough on greased or parchment paper lined cookie sheets and bake normal-sized cookies for 11-12 minutes and giant-sized ones for 22-24. Allow to cool, if you can 🙂

Baked

My father-in-law sent me a text, that succinctly summed up his thoughts on these cookies.

Deliciousness

It read: “they didn’t stand a chance.”

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Got something to say?

