Baked Crab Cakes

I’ve been a lot like these cakes lately. Crabby.

BCC

Maybe it’s the cold. Maybe it’s my commute. Or sorry to get girly on you, but maybe it’s just got something to do with that dreaded time us lady folk deal with twelve times a year. How about a craptastic combo of all three of those things? Sounds about right.

Regardless of the reason, I’ve been a you-know-what-on-wheels lately and I’m wondering if writing about it will release some of that rage.

Okay, what’s going on isn’t quite rage. That’s a little strong. It just sounded good though, you know? Alliteration and all.

I promise it’s more of a slow simmer than a rapid boil.

Bowl1

I feel the need to give you a glimpse into my morning ride to work – it’s Boston – so it’s bad by default, but today bothered me more than usual. I’m not sure why, but someone flipped me off on the highway today and once they whizzed way ahead of me, I burst into tears.

My normal response would be laughter, so I’m not quite sure what the sudden sensitivity is all about.

Bowl2

I’ve got to kick this funk of mine. It’s no fun.

Perhaps a plate of these crab cakes would do the trick? They were really good, after all. Like – if I got them at a restaurant, I’d get ’em again good. I’ve tried my hand at making crab cakes in the past and let me tell you – not only were they not worth writing home blogging about, but they were barely worth eating.

Were they edible? Sure, but are a lot of things that are edible don’t necessarily fall into the category of good.

Spices1

So, I took a break from making crab cakes, but I’m back in a big way. Booyah, baby!

Spices2

In fact, this second go was so successful, I’ve actually made crab cakes two weeks in a row and I’m currently contemplating week three.

If a recipe sticks around in my kitchen, it must be okay.

One thing I’ll never try making again? Jerk chicken. The recipe called for an ungodly amount of ingredients and while I can’t remember them all, I can definitively tell you that there was a kiwi in there. While some recipes seem weird and taste fantastic, this one tasted as weird as it seemed. One and done, jerk chicken – I should have known based on your name alone that you weren’t worth my time.

Crab

While we’re on this directionless rant today, can I ask your honest opinion? Does the picture above look good or gross to you? Since I know its contents and how the combination makes the finished product come out, I think it looks pretty awesome.

If the image was randomly presented to me though, I’m not so sure. Like, I’m imagining myself accidentally stumbling across something I didn’t want to see while Google image searching and quickly closing the browser window.

We’ve all been there. We might as well admit it.

I don’t care what you’re Google image searching. Whatever it is, you are asking for trouble.

PankoCornmealMixture

Let’s see if I can focus for a sec on these crab cakes, shall we? I am supposed to be persuading you to make these, after all.

In my opinion, there a couple things that make these cakes true perfection. The first is the the combination of seasonings – the ratio is right on. While you can add or take away according to your picky palette, the amounts I’ve written below made my mouth happy.

Then, we have the cooking method. We’re baking these babies and for good reason. I refuse to deep fry anything in my kitchen since I have an irrational fear of starting a house fire. I should mention I’m also afraid of how much I’d like the taste of these deep fried. Better I never know.

Unbaked Cakes

Being baked doesn’t make these boring. They get serious crunchification from a coating of breadcrumbs and cornmeal. I refuse to believe the red, squiggly line under the word “crunchification.”

You guys know what I’m talking about, so it must be a real word.

Baked Crab Cakes

slightly adapted from allrecipes.com
Yield: 12 crab cakes
Prep Time: 15-20 minutes
Cook Time: 25-30 minutes

Ingredients:
6 green onions, chopped
2 small ribs of celery, chopped
16 ounce can of crab meat, drained
1 egg
1 tablespoon plain Greek yogurt
1 teaspoon dry mustard
8 ounces buttery round wheat crackers, crushed
a few splashes of hot sauce
1 clove of garlic, minced
1/2 teaspoon Old Bay Seasoning
Salt, to taste (I used about 1/4 teaspoon)
ground black pepper, to taste (I used just a pinch)
1/4 cup fine/medium ground cornmeal
1/4 cup panko breadcrumbs

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

In a small bowl, combine your cornmeal and breadcrumbs – sprinkle with a pinch of salt and pepper and set aside.

In a big bowl, combine crab meat, green onions, celery, egg, yogurt, dry mustard, crushed crackers, hot sauce, garlic powder, Old Bay seasoning, salt and pepper.

If you’d like to, use a cookie scoop to ensure consistency – otherwise, just eyeball it. The goal here is to form 1/2 inch thick patties. Be gentle, but it’s best to compress a bit so that everything stays together.

Carefully coat the patties with your breadcrumb/cornmeal mixture.

Arrange your crab cakes on a greased baking sheet and bake for 15 minutes. Flip over so that the other side can brown up and bake for another 10-15 minutes.

After they cool, you can enjoy as is or on top of a salad with whatever greens, topping and dressing you like best!

Salad

I owe you an apology. I talked a ton about my Creamy Avocado Ranch Dressing the other day, but I failed to mention these.

My plate full of awesomeness included a couple of these Baked Crab Cakes.

Try one bite and you’ll forgive me.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Got something to say?

