Creamy Avocado Ranch Dressing

Ugh. I get so bored so easily…with everything. I can’t even sit still to watch TV. True story.

CARD

So as you can imagine, by the time I make my way to the bottom of a salad dressing bottle, I’m bored out of my gourd. My refrigerator door is no stranger to many almost-empty bottles of balsamic-this and partially-there parmesan-peppercorn-that. Don’t even get me started on those low fat salad dressings with their empty promises revolving around tastiness. The emptier the promise, the fuller the bottle.

I have found very few decent light dressings. Most just tend to make your salad wet without adding any taste whatsoever.

Avocadoes

Who wants a soggy salad? Not I.

Mashed

I want a salad with flavor…something that makes me excited about eating it! Let’s be honest…salads need all the help they can get. There’s nothing particularly sexy about ’em. So, how do you add some serious sex appeal to your salad? A variety of interesting toppings and some seriously good dressing are two solid places to start.

How do you guarantee you’ll get a dressing worth dousing your salad with? You know what they say about wanting something done right and doing it yourself, right? Well, salad dressing is no exception.

Fortunately for all of us, making salad dressing at home is simple and super affordable. It also appeals to the control freak in me because I can put in exactly what I want and leave out what I don’t.

For example, the original recipe I worked off for this Creamy Avocado Ranch Dressing called for a mixture of sour cream and mayo.

Sour cream, okay…but mayo? Ohhhh no…I don’t get down like that.

Spice

I hate mayo. If you like it, go for it – it’s all yours! It’s just not for me. Different strokes for different folks.

I’ve been swapping in plain Greek yogurt for mayo for so long now it’s an automatic. I always have yogurt on hand and it doesn’t hurt that it tends to be a healthier, more protein packed option than the alternative.

Greek yogurt for the win…forever.

Creamy Avocado Ranch Dressing

slightly adapted from allrecipes.com
Yield: About 3/4 cup dressing
Prep Time: 10 minutes
Cook Time: 0 minutes

Ingredients:
1/2 of a ripe avocado, pitted – save the other half for your salad!
1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt (2% or 0% fat)
1 tablespoon buttermilk (use more if you’d like a thinner dressing)
1-1/2 white wine vinegar
1/8 teaspoon salt
a pinch dried dill weed
1/8 teaspoon onion powder
1/8 teaspoon garlic powder

Directions:
Mash avocado in a bowl, then stir in yogurt, buttermilk, and vinegar. Sprinkle with salt, dill, onion powder, and garlic powder. Stir until well blended, chill until ready to serve.

JarThis dressing is creamy and decadent. Basically, it’s everything you’d expect from the store bought variety, but with the added bonus of bragging rights because you made it!

If my salad attended an awards show, it would win best dressed.

See what I did there? Somebody stop me. Seriously. Save me from myself.

Tagged: , , , ,

Got something to say?

