Brownie Bite Truffles

These little Brownie Bite Truffles? Big trouble. Like, huge. Consider yourselves  warned.

BBT copy

To know me is to know I love chocolate. Eric knows me very well…so well in fact, he has been known to show up on my doorstep with a piece of chocolate, a smile and his go to line of: “I know my baby needs her medicine.”

Yep. I hit the man-lotto jackpot with that one. Sorry, ladies – he’s all mine. While I won’t share my fiancé, I will share this Brownie Bite Truffle recipe with you. They’re kind of the dessert equivalent since I’m not interested in getting myself into a Sister Wives situation. Thanks for understanding.

BPan

When I saw this recipe last week on Iowa Girl Eats, it stopped me in my tracks. I already had my grocery list written up, but I had to make a last minute addition. I didn’t just want to make these things – I felt as though I needed to. It’s really for the greater good of you, my wonderful readers. Plus, doing the quality control on this deliciousness wasn’t the most daunting of tasks.

Enough about me and how many of these things I ate though. Let’s talk about you.

All you’ve got to do to make these happen in your kitchen is bake up a box mix of brownies. It’s easy enough – and they’re definitely delicious enough as is. We’re just going to take that stand alone awesomeness and elevate it to epic proportions. Just a little patience and a couple pantry items will take you to brownie bite bliss.

Edges

The key to this recipe is to make sure you don’t over bake your brownies because you’re going to want them on the fudgier end of the spectrum so that they stick together better. Another non-negotiable here is we have to go full fat. No subbing in applesauce for the oil. This is the one instance where I’m actually not an advocate for applesauce.

Once the brownies cool a bit, you will end up cutting and removing the crispy edges, so you could tell yourself you’re lowering the calories that way. Whatever lets you sleep at night.

Or you could do what I did and put the crispy edges in the freezer for a rainy day. Then, wish for some rain in your forecast. Come on, Mother Nature!

Fluff

After you cut the edges off your brownies and store ’em away until your rain dance works, take a fork to the pan and break your brownies up. Don’t go easy on ’em either! Just get the job done. I promise your brownies will bounce right back. Heck, they’ll be good as better than new!

BrownieBalls

Scoop your hot mess of brownies by the tablespoon with a melon baller or small cookie scoop – then shape and smoosh them into little, imperfect brownie balls. If you must, make sure your brownie crumbs are edible by eating whatever doesn’t stick as you go. No one will have to know about the brownie shrapnel that was harmed in the making of these truffles – that can be our little secret.

WhiteChocDip
Here’s where we gussy these guys up real good. To me, it’s a little like putting makeup on. You might look a little rough around the edges when you first wake up, but that’s nothin’ a little concealer and an eyelash curler can’t fix!

After a coating or two in the melted chocolate of your choice – and a sprinkle of something cute – these brownies are b-e-a-utiful!

Plate

When you make these for yourself – just remember – don’t thank me! Thank Kristin over at Iowa Girl Eats. Then, thank me for passing the word along 😉

Brownie Bite Truffles

ever so slightly adapted from Iowa Girl Eats
Yield: 30 truffles (more or less, depending on the size of your scoop)

Ingredients:
1 box fudge brownie mix + ingredients on back of box (or any fudgy homemade brownie recipe)
12oz chocolate of your choice (I used 6oz each semi-sweet and white)
sprinkles/embellishments

Directions:
Bake brownies according to package directions then cool completely. Do not overbake or sub out oil to make brownies low fat or they will not stick together. Cut off edges then break up cooked brownies with a fork. Scoop out brownies by the tablespoon then roll into a balls and place on baking sheets lined with wax paper.

Add chocolate to a microwave-safe bowl just big enough to hold it (makes for easier dipping) then microwave for 1 minute and stir. Microwave in 20 second increments, stirring between increments, until chocolate is melted. Dip brownie truffles in chocolate then transfer between two forks to let excess chocolate drip off. Transfer back to wax paper then add embellishments on top. Place into refrigerator to harden then package. Store on the counter, in the fridge or even in the freeze for choco-mergencies.

BiteIf you’re still scrambling for a Valentine’s Day idea for your sweetheart – or yourself – look no further. Brownie Bite Truffles make good on that old saying about good things coming in small packages.

I also heard that the calories you burn while making Brownie Bite Truffles cancel out any calories you consume while eating them, but that may be less scientific fact and more wishful thinking.

Either way, I’m willing to do some research 🙂

Tagged: , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Brownie Bite Truffles

  1. explodyfull February 12, 2013 at 6:56 am Reply

    I am disturbed by the idea of mashing the brownies up but hot brownie mess sounds tasty (and so wrong!)

    • Brie February 12, 2013 at 8:29 am Reply

      Haha – the brownie mashing is simply a means to an end. An extremely delicious and sinful end 🙂

  2. Aunty Marie February 12, 2013 at 12:19 pm Reply

    Brie
    These look sooo good. Thanks for sharing.

  3. cleaneatingveggiegirl February 13, 2013 at 9:18 pm Reply

    Yum! How perfect for Valentine’s day! ….or, any day, for that matter! 😉

    • Brie February 13, 2013 at 10:49 pm Reply

      Absolutely! I made up a batch and put them in little baggies for some loved ones, but I made sure to stock my freezer with a few for yours truly 🙂

Got something to say?

