Not-So-Bad Bleu Cheese Dressing

I fear that I may be risking my readership today by talking all about bleu cheese.

Dressing

Bleu cheese is tough. I feel like people either love it or hate it…it’s almost impossible to find a middle ground, spectrum type of situation with this ingredient. You know what though? I was kind of indifferent about it – until I found this recipe.

Most bleu cheese salad dressings are gloopy, which may or may not be a real word, but I think you know what I mean – and it’s the first thing that came to mind when mentally searching for a descriptor. If you’re not quite catching what I’m throwing – think super thick and undesirable in consistency.

Two contributing factors to this aforementioned, Oxford Dictionary approved gloopiness? Mayo and sour cream. Both are usually incorporated to make the bleu cheese dressing base, which as you can imagine is not super figure-friendly.

I’ve got a wedding dress to fit into, folks.

Yep – it’s true! I went and tried all of two dresses on the other day, ordered one over the phone once my mind was made up and waited patiently until it arrived at work. Go ahead and ask me how my productivity has been since the dress’ delivery. Let’s just say, if sneaking coworkers into my office, shutting the door and showing them a sneak peek of the goods was an Olympic sport – um – I’d get gold.

Yogurt

Truth be told, even if I wasn’t worried about a wedding dress, there are always jeans lurking or bathing suits sitting in the back of my mind. So, year-round – regardless of the occasion or wardrobe – I try to watch what I eat.

Saying no to everything? No can do. Saying no to some things though? Not a huge sacrifice.

For example, I’ve been using low-fat plain Greek yogurt instead of mayo and sour cream for years now and I really think this recipe is a prime example of how seamless this substitution is. Instead of unwanted calories and fat from the mayo/sour cream combo, you’ll get ton of protein from the yogurt as well as a rich texture that doesn’t leave anything to be desired.

PepperOil

To your yogurt, you’re going to add a sprinkle of black pepper. How little or how much is up to you! You’re also going to drizzle in a little bit of olive oil, which lest we forget – is a good fat. Better than a boatload of mayo and sour cream, that’s for sure!

Honey

A couple tablespoons of honey are also needed, so dig that bear- or beehive-shaped bottle out of your pantry. The honey is, in my humble opinion, the best compliment to the bleu cheese because it rounds it out a bit…takes the edge off, if you will.

RiceWineVin

Rice wine vinegar isn’t something I normally keep in my cupboards, which means you may not either – but I’m telling you – you’ll want to buy a bottle even if you only end up using it for this one recipe. It’s got a ton of flavor and tang that cuts through the richness of the bleu cheese – and it only costs a couple bucks. I always buy the bottle with roasted garlic in it – and I would recommend grabbing the same should you see it on the shelf at your local grocery store. If you don’t luck out – I’m sure regular rice wine vinegar would work just as well – and you could very easily throw in a bit of minced garlic if you want that extra oomph!

Stir

Combine everything you’ve already put in the bowl with a fork or whisk until it’s incorporated. Then, brace yourself for some bleu cheese.

Bleu

I get why bleu cheese gets a bum rap. It kind of smells and it’s riddled with mold, but you know what?!

Even though I’d be lying if I told you I eat forkfuls of bleu cheese straight from the fridge…I’d also be lying if I told you I’ve never snuck a spoonful of this dressing while no one’s looking.

Stir2So, get over your bleu cheese fear and fold those crumbles on in. Then, just leave your dressing in the fridge to chill until you’re ready to serve. Easy enough – and oh-so-delicious!

Not-So-Bad Bleu Cheese Dressing

adapted from Lauren’s Kitchen
Yield: 2 cups
Prep Time: 5-10 minutes

Ingredients:
6 tablespoons seasoned rice wine vinegar (I use roasted garlic, but any kind will do)
1/4 cup olive oil
2 tablespoons honey
1 cup plain Greek yogurt
1 cup crumbled bleu cheese
black pepper, to taste

Directions:
In a medium mixing bowl, whisk together the yogurt, olive oil, honey, rice wine vinegar and black pepper. Fold in the bleu cheese crumbles and chill until ready to serve.

Makes a delicious dressing for salads or dipping sauce for chicken and fresh veggies!

Store in an airtight container in the fridge for up to a week.

Stir3

I bet I’ll make some bleu cheese believers outta you 🙂

Tagged: , , ,

7 thoughts on “Not-So-Bad Bleu Cheese Dressing

  1. Julie January 18, 2013 at 7:26 pm Reply

    I feel so great about this. Love bleu cheese, normally despise the dressing. I’m totally going to try this.

    • Brie January 18, 2013 at 8:10 pm Reply

      Hey Julie! Glad you’re going to give this a go – you can always cut the recipe in half in case you’re skeptical, but trust me – it’s pretty awesome 🙂

      Hope to hear your feedback!

  2. L. Rowan McKnight January 19, 2013 at 2:37 pm Reply

    Bleu is one of my favorite cheeses. I love the tangy smell and taste, and the “riddled with mold” part is what makes it so good hahaha

    This recipe looks amazing, and I love the idea of using the plain Greek yogurt as a base. A girlfriend of mine introduced me to Greek yogurt a while back, and I can’t believe I ever enjoyed that thin, runny, over-sweet stuff that seems to be the staple in most groceries.

    You truly write an excellent blog. Over the past few weeks since discovering you, I’ve realized that I have a tremendous culinary resource at my fingertips, here.

    Have you thought about a book?

    • Brie January 19, 2013 at 8:34 pm Reply

      I’m with you, woman – the things that some people think are so bad about bleu are the same things I think make it soooo darn delish.

      I literally don’t know what I’d do without Greek yogurt – I think I’d be lost. It’s an all-purpose ingredient in my kitchen! You’re 100% right about regular yogurt, by the way – it pales in comparison. Stick around – my Greek yogurt obsession will only continue to wiggle its way into recipes!

      I can’t thank you enough your words of encouragement – that was really something. It blows my mind that people (awesome people, like you) take time out of their day to read this thing. I’ll keep writing if you keep reading!

      Who knows!? I may just write my way to a book 😉

      • L. Rowan McKnight January 19, 2013 at 9:15 pm

        I sure hope you do. I will most certainly buy it!

      • Brie January 19, 2013 at 9:19 pm

        No ya wouldn’t – I’d give you one.

      • L. Rowan McKnight January 19, 2013 at 9:20 pm

        Hahaha! ♥

Got something to say?

