Tabbouleh Salad

Here’s a healthy recipe to ease ourselves into food amnesia after the caloric freak fest that was Friday.

Tab2

Don’t tell me you’ve never tried to induce food amnesia. I know I can’t be the only one who’s done this.

Immediately after eating something some would find…oh, I don’t know…shameful…have you ever immediately shoved something healthy into your mouth? A banana after a bowl of ice cream, perhaps? Salad purposefully following a piece – okay, multiple pieces – of pizza?

You’re not alone. While it doesn’t counteract the calories consumed, doing so leaves you with lasting a food memory you can be proud of. I while I feel we should own everything we eat – the good, the bad, the eat-in-the-dark ugly – I get it.

Today, I’m sharing my recipe for tabbouleh. In my mind, it fully restores balance to the universe after blogging about Blueberry White Chocolate Bread Pudding. Not that there’s anything wrong with that 😉

Bulgur

I could totally eat tabbouleh everyday, but only if someone else would make it for me. Mom? You love me enough to prep a lifetime supply of tabbouleh salad, right?! Making tabbouleh is a little bit of a labor of love. Nothing about it is particularly difficult in any way, shape or form, but it does takes some time.

Start off by soaking some coarse ground bulgar wheat in boiling water. Just add enough to cover the grains. Consider this a warmup for our upcoming chopping workout.

If we could go back to my mom for a minute, she always called bulgar “burgle.” Having grown up in a household where I was taught that was the correct pronunciation, I was completely caught off guard when I realized I had been saying it wrong. My entire life.

Truth be told, I still have to catch myself every now and again from slipping up.

Bulgur4

Cover your bowl with plastic wrap and set it aside so you can wash the ingredients that will round out the rest of your salad. While you’re keeping yourself busy, the burgle bulgar will absorb all that water.

Bulgur3

Once that happens, fluff the pearls of bulgar with a fork to create a warm and inviting bed on which the remaining ingredients will rest.

Parsley

Buy yourself a big bunch of flat leaf parsley. I repeat – go for flat leaf. I’m not sure why, but it’s flavor is superior to its curly counterpart. It’s also easier to work with since the leaves sit still on your cutting board. I swear that curly parsley’s got little pairs of legs under their leaves!

Scallions

Next, slice yourself up some green onions…or scallions. Whatever you call them! Tomato, to-mah-to.

Cuc

Since we’re on the topic of tomatoes – yeah, you’ll need a few of those. As you can see from the photo above, you’re also going to add a diced cucumber. I always use European since you don’t have to peel them…and they seem so much more sophisticated. I imagine that if European cucumbers could talk, they would have an accent.

I’m kidding. Kind of.

Bowl

Celebrate being done all that chopping by making the easiest salad dressing…ever. No need to break out another bowl and whisk either – just sprinkle some salt and pepper, add a good amount of lemon juice and drizzle olive oil on top of your salad before tossing.

I know it’s tough to do, but put this puppy in the fridge at least four hours – or overnight, if you’re prepping ahead. Then, serve yourself up a big bowl and pat yourself on the back for being so healthy.

What bread pudding?! See? The food amnesia has fully set in 🙂

Tabbouleh Salad

slightly adapted from All Recipes
Serves: 8
Prep Time: 45 minutes
Inactive Time:
4 hours – overnight

Ingredients:
1 cup bulgar
3 tomatoes, seeded and chopped
1 European cucumber, chopped
3 green onions, chopped
1 cup chopped fresh parsley
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 cup lemon juice
healthy drizzle of olive oil

Directions:
Place cracked wheat in bowl and pour enough boiling water just to cover the grains. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and set aside. Allow the bulgar to Soak for 30 minutes or until all the liquid is absorbed; drain and squeeze out excess water, if necessary.

Meanwhile, wash and prep your other ingredients.

In a mixing bowl, combine the wheat, tomatoes, cucumbers, onions, parsley, salt, lemon juice, and olive oil. Toss and refrigerate for at least 4 hours before serving. Toss again prior to serving.

Tab3

You know what’s kind of cool? I submitted a picture of my finished product to allrecipes.com because none of the existing ones were really doing tabbouleh any justice.

Now, my photo is the face of tabbouleh salad! Click here to see it!

I feel famous.

Tagged: , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Tabbouleh Salad

  1. anitaej September 8, 2014 at 4:09 am Reply

    Hello Brie!
    I love Tabbouleh Salad and yours looks amazing, and with all healthy ingredients.

    • Brie September 9, 2014 at 10:49 am Reply

      Thanks so much – you couldn’t be more right. Tabbouleh is super healthy – I love to pair it with hummus for some protein a.k.a. staying power 🙂

Got something to say?

