Entrée the Fiancée – Part 2

I should have known something was up. He showed up in a new shirt and sweater.

Eric2

Okay, I know what you’re thinking…so, what? Well, Eric and I have been saving our butts off so we can buy a house, that’s what. We haven’t exactly been dipping in to update our wardrobes. Good thing I was distracted by how handsome he looked – otherwise, I would have realized it was completely out of character for him to just treat himself to a new ensemble. That’s my role in this relationship 🙂

We headed into Boston, like we’ve done on so many other Saturdays. We walked around Quincy Market and Faneuil Hall…places we’re no stranger to. This day was different though…I just didn’t know it yet…and I also didn’t know that Eric kept me to his right side specifically so I wouldn’t realize what was in his left hand pocket.

After attempting to do some Christmas shopping, we decided to go grab dinner. Eric said there was a place he read rave reviews about online, but that he couldn’t remember the name…and we didn’t have reservations. I never thought we’d get a table on a Saturday night in the city.

Well, I was wrong. We were seated right away at a table next to the open kitchen at Scollay Square and greeted by the world’s best waitress, Wendy. I’m sorry to take a break from the story, but I have to build the suspense and talk about what we ate. What? Did you guys forgot you were reading a food blog?

I had the oven roasted cider brined chicken with mashed potatoes, roasted beets and eggplant. It was unreal…each and every bite of it. I told Eric that if that were my last meal, I’d be overjoyed.

He had the miso glazed salmon fillet over steamed spinach and jasmine rice. Oh me, oh my…was it good.

To round things out, we had some kind of chocolatey concoction from heaven. Imagine if mousse and cake and fudge all had a beautiful baby…it was like that, but better. Needless to say, it didn’t stand a chance. We were in the clean plate club on that one.

Eric would like to personally thank the chef responsible for recommending this dessert – he gives you all the credit for paving the path to me saying yes. I’m sorry, chef – I can’t say for sure that you sealed the deal, but I can say your dessert didn’t hurt 🙂

B&E

After dinner was done, Eric asked if I’d want to keep walking down to the Public Garden. It was freezing, but I went along for the walk anyway figuring it would lighten the burden of the indulgence I had just inhaled. We passed the cute little Make Way for Ducklings sculpture and we could see a rink full of ice skaters off in the distance. We also saw a homeless person vomiting violently, but it wouldn’t be a night out in Boston without that.

As we walked, we talked about how perfect dinner – and the whole night – really was. Puking bum included. Had our evening been cut short then, it would already have been one for the record books.

Eric led me to a little bench by a lagoon, which was surrounded by willow trees. We hadn’t been sitting down for much more than a minute when Eric asked if I remembered how much he loves me. As I turned to tell him that’s something I could never forget, there he was – down on one knee – ring box in hand. It takes a lot to make me speechless, but that sure shut me up. Fortunately, I snapped out of it pretty quickly, although I’m sure it seemed like an eternity to poor Eric.

ShadowLO

HeartLo

We all know what happened next – we hugged and we kissed – and to quote my girl, Beyoncé – he put a ring on it. She’s a beaut, by the way. Both the ring and Beyoncé.

As Eric and I were enjoying what I thought was a private moment, someone in the park yelled out, “What did she say?!” Without missing a beat, I yelled right back through my happy tears, “I SAID YES!!!” Next thing I knew, all the strangers passing by were clapping, hootin’ and hollerin’. You gotta love Bostonians…we’re a real reserved bunch.

On our way back to the car, we stopped back by the restaurant just to tell our waitress what had happened. She hugged us both and had a genuine enthusiasm about our brand new engagement that one would expect from a family member. If you ever eat at Scollay Square – make sure Wendy’s your waitress – or at least make it a point to meet this wonderful woman. I promise she’ll live up to the hype.

US

I met Eric thirteen years ago on a playground in overalls (me, not him). I may not have known then what I know now, but I always knew there was something different about him. Eric’s kind nature and good heart left a lasting impression on me that remained until we reconnected as adults and was reaffirmed as soon as we started dating. I’m not sure what I did, but I must have done something right to deserve a someone like him.

Smooch

Oh…you’re probably wondering just how much Eric loves me. After all, here I am, spilling my guts about everything…why not talk about that? Well, there are some things that are sacred. The important thing is that I know how much he loves me…and he knows I love him right back.

6 thoughts on “Entrée the Fiancée – Part 2

  1. Janet December 18, 2012 at 12:13 pm Reply

    Now you got me crying again 🙂

    • Brie December 18, 2012 at 12:16 pm Reply

      Awww, Janet!!!

  2. Marie Guy December 18, 2012 at 12:37 pm Reply

    How sweet. Love the story was waiting for it. Eric you are the best. Love you both.

    • Brie December 18, 2012 at 12:41 pm Reply

      Thank you, Auntie – and yes, he is the best 🙂

  3. Jan Snyder December 18, 2012 at 7:26 pm Reply

    YAY! loved the whole story … noticed the pic of Eric in NB too, recognized that field! 🙂 So happy for you both … 🙂 Keep us posted!

    ps I made your hummus recipe …. de-lacious!! Not as fab and fluffy looking as yours, but SO tasty… we are on a Middle Eastern food kick now … you must come visit us and take trip to the shops/bakeries in Watertown … got some falafel, pitas, and something called “mouhammara” at one of the shops … ground nuts/red peppers/spices/olive oil pasty dip sort of thing (? cinnamon and cumin and something spicy), was awesome along with the hummus and pita chips!

    Sorry to veer off of your story … had to get back to the food thing! Love that you and Eric are so happy … which is WAY more important than any food!

    • Brie December 18, 2012 at 9:33 pm Reply

      That pic of Eric in the field is one of my favs – it was from our first trip to NB and I so proud of myself for sneaking that snapshot in before he realized what I was doing 🙂

      About the hummus, I have an amazing blender – it’s called a Ninja – and it literally does all the work for me. All I have to do is press a button and let it go for a few minutes. It comes out perfect every time! So, it’s not the operator – it may be the equipment. If you didn’t already try it, I would recommend using a hand or stand mixer after processing it to get the hummus whipped up and fluffier.

      Have you and Janet ever been to Cafe Barada in Cambridge? Their hummus is far and away the best I’ve ever had. Suuuuuper light and creamy.

      Thank you for all the love and support – and don’t worry, we’ll be back to business on Thursday with a brand new recipe. This girl’s gotta eat!!

Got something to say?

