Meatball Marinara Grilled Cheese

This is grown-up grilled cheese. Sure, you could share with children, but you won’t want to.

MMG

Oh, don’t give me that look. Instead, look at that sandwich and then tell me again you’re okay with sharing. Yeah, I didn’t think so.

MeatballsBreadPlant

I don’t know about you, but I’m the kind of gal who could eat a few grilled cheese sandwiches in one sitting and still not be satisfied.

Sure, you can serve it with some soup. I’m still gonna want more grilled cheeses…pleases.

That’s politeness pluralized.

Bread

I’ve told you that I’m not really a spaghetti gal. Go ahead and get judgy, but I’m by no means low carbing it. I just prefer the chew of some hearty bread over a pile of pasta.

So, when I made a giant vat of meatballs and sauce to serve company Friday night and all the pasta went but there were still a bunch of meatballs, I wasn’t bummed because I happened to have a lovely loaf of bread and some super melty muenster cheese on hand.

And then the angels sang because that’s what happens when you make a sandwich this heavenly.

Nothis

That – and your dog stares at you while you’re cooking because he know mom’s making magic. By the time Eric and I polished off our sandwiches I think he finally got the hint neither one was for him.

Sorry, homie.

HisHersThe purpose of this picture is to show you that my slightly smaller sandwich is super ladylike and dainty compared to my husband’s. I do this with almost everything we eat. Give him just a little more.

Then, sneak seconds as he does dishes and I pack leftovers into Tupperware.

Griddling

I’m kidding, of course. Eric is well aware and extremely impressed by my ability to eat. What I’m not kidding about is the second sneaking. Guilty as charged on that one.

Before I get into the meat (get it?) of this recipe, I should tell you there is no real rhyme or reason to it. Like your homemade meatballs and sauce better than mine? Make ‘em. Short on time and you’d rather do a store bought shortcut? Do it.

Whatever it takes to get this sandwich to your mouth is good by me.

Meatball Marinara Grilled Cheese

Inspired by How Sweet It Is & The Kitchn

Servings: 2
Prep Time: 10 minutes
Cook Time: 10 minutes

Ingredients:
Meatballs and sauce – how many meatballs you’ll use depends on the size. Mine were a little over an inch in diameter, so I cut each in half and needed six total (three per sandwich). Also, you’ll just need enough sauce to coat the meatballs.
4 ounces muenster cheese, shredded
4 slices of good, grainy bread
a little bit of butter
extra sauce for serving, if desired

Directions:
Heat a grill pan, griddle over skillet over medium-low heat and while it’s coming up to temp, lightly (or heavily) butter one slice of bread.

Place the bread – buttered side down – on the hot surface and pile a little cheese onto each piece. Then, layer on the meatballs and sauce. After you add another small mountain of cheese, top both sandwiches off with another buttered bread slice. Be sure the buttered slice is facing up.

After about four minutes, carefully flip your masterpiece over and patiently wait as the other side gets good and golden.

Wait another few minutes and take the sandwiches off the griddle or out of the pan. Bask in the glory of the beautiful sandwiches you just made.

Serve with extra sauce if that gets you goin’.

Stacked

These were good with an O and an M in front. That, for those of you spelling along with me would make Meatball Marinara Grilled Cheese Sandwiches OMGood.

They’re Lady Gaga good. Gaga ooh lala.

Please excuse my poor attempt at remaining relevant by incorporating dumb pop culture references into this post. I’m just a person who stays home on the weekend so I can take pictures of the meals I make.

In no way shape or form, am I cool. I sure can make a sandwich though.

BigBite

My secret to mastering the grilled cheese sandwich? Meatballs.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Meatball Marinara Grilled Cheese

  1. Christine @ Cooking with Cakes March 25, 2014 at 11:23 am Reply

    YES. just yes to all of this!!!!!! :)

    • Brie March 25, 2014 at 11:45 am Reply

      Dooooo it. It’s delicious!

Got something to say?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

