Life-Changing Chai

My name is Brie and I’m a chai-a-holic.

I didn’t go searching for this chai…I just kind of stumbled upon it…and for that, I am grateful.

It started innocently enough with a trip to Trader Joe’s. I was checking out the various nut butters when my boyfriend (probably impatient with my nut butter indecisiveness) made a beeline for the free samples in the back of the store. He came back with the tiniest cup I had ever seen and told me to try a sip. Two seconds later, I was on my way to claim a sample for myself.

Trader Joe’s Salted Caramel Chai Tea Latte Mix is a mouthful…a mouthful of deliciousness, my friends.

I promise you that this drink doesn’t taste salty – so please don’t let the “salted” part scare you off. There’s simply a hint of – something – and it serves to highlight the sweeter side of this drink. The caramel flavor really comes through first, followed by more traditional and complex chai flavors, like cinnamon, cardamom and ginger. Honestly though, what had me smitten at first sip was how ridiculously rich and creamy it is. I immediately assumed there had to be some kind of catch. How could something from a canister taste so good? I had to find out.

So, I approached the gentleman working the chai station and asked what kind of milk he was mixing with this stuff. Maybe it was almond milk? Could it be coconut? No…it had to be some kind of exotic milk I had never heard of before.

“I just added hot water,” the Trader Joe’s employee said with a smile, instantly making my day. Not to be outdone, my boyfriend snatched up a can when I wasn’t looking. Consider yourself officially one-upped, Trader Joe’s chai guy.

I’m usually a glass half full kind of gal, but when it comes to this chai, my mug empties out pretty quick.

The friendly cashier who rang us up said that the second ingredient in this chai is crack. Clearly, he was kidding – but all joking aside – the man has a point. The addictive quality of Trader Joe’s Salted Caramel Chai cannot be denied…so I have no choice but to accept my obsession.
Chai3

Fill up my mug and call me a crackhead!

Tagged:

8 thoughts on “Life-Changing Chai

  1. Christine November 30, 2012 at 11:35 pm Reply

    Your dishes look real good! Mom – Force feeding not me!

    • Brie December 1, 2012 at 12:01 am Reply

      Check you out, Mom! Did you really just figure out how to post a comment on my blog? I’m proud of you, woman. PS- I can’t wait to photograph food on my Fiesta Ware.

  2. Becki Smith December 6, 2012 at 6:46 pm Reply

    This description was so good I had to run right out and buy some! It is SO good!!! I went through a Chai Tea phase a few years back, but it has sort of slipped off my radar lately. However, I don’t think this Chai will ever slip off my radar! Thanks for the recommendation!

    • Brie December 6, 2012 at 8:30 pm Reply

      Haha – I’m psyched I’m not the only one who’s hooked! Reading your comment made me realize how much of that stuff I’ve already gone through…and that it’s time for another mug full :)

  3. Justin April 9, 2013 at 8:21 pm Reply

    Aw chestnuts. Why did I have to read this right when I came back from Trader Joe’s. I will definitely have to get some next time. Nice post and website.

    • Brie April 10, 2013 at 9:49 am Reply

      Thanks so much, Justin – glad you happened upon it! I’m sorry the timing wasn’t a little better, but just something to keep in mind for your next TJ’s trip :)

      PS – I’ve been lazy lately, but I’m planning a comeback so stay tuned!!

  4. Anna April 18, 2014 at 5:37 pm Reply

    i never noticed Salted Caramel Chai Tea Latte at Trader Joe’s before, I am definitely going to try now. I have recently discovered Matcha Green tea latte at Trader Joe’s, also very interesting flavor. Here is my list of what I like at Trader Joe’s http://www.sweetieandgeek.com/the-best-food-to-buy-at-trader-joes/

    • Brie April 18, 2014 at 6:58 pm Reply

      Can’t wait to check your list out, Anna! Thanks so much for sharing :)

Got something to say?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

